A Shared Health Service
eChart Manitoba logo

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages

Disclosure Directives

<< Back to FAQs

What is a Disclosure Directive?

A Disclosure Directive in eChart is an instruction that an individual gives to prevent their own information from being disclosed, viewed or printed. It is an “electronic mask” that is applied to all of the patient’s clinical information.

See the Disclosure Directives bulletin for more details.

How do I override a Disclosure Directive?

Only authorized eChart users with “Clinical View with Images & Override” access can override a Disclosure Directive. This role is assigned to users in professional roles who can prescribe within their scope of practice, such as physicians, nurse practitioners and midwives.

A Disclosure Directive override should only be performed after you have identified that the patient has a Disclosure Directive in place. If the patient has a Disclosure Directive, the error message below will appear.

Check the Override Disclosure Directive box, enter the patient file as usual, and enter Reason for Override when prompted.

Should I check the Disclosure Directive override button every time I see it?

Do not check the Override Disclosure Directive box unless you have identified that the patient has a Disclosure Directive in place.

If the patient has a Disclosure Directive, the error message below will appear.

Skip to content